Understanding `apoc.periodic.iterate` parallel performance

Hello,

I'm new to Cypher, and I'm using Neo4j Browser to run and test out apoc.periodic.iterate queries on the latest version of Neo4j community docker container. The machine that I'm using has 48 cores and 200GB of RAM. I've some questions regarding its performance, and I want to ask for your help and opinions :slight_smile: .

The use case is as follows: I've a directory with a lot of JSON files, and I wrote a parallel query using apoc.periodic.iterate to count the number of rows/lines in each of these files in parallel -The number of files is limited to 48 for simplicity-. Here is the query:

CALL apoc.load.directory() YIELD value AS files
WITH files AS files
LIMIT 48
UNWIND files as file
CALL apoc.periodic.iterate(
    "
        CALL apoc.load.json($file) YIELD value as row
        RETURN row
    ",
    "
        UNWIND row as r
        RETURN count(r)
    ",
    {batchSize:1, parallel:true, params: {file: file}}
)
YIELD timeTaken, batches, total
return timeTaken, batches, total

Here is a snippet of the output:

The timetaken for each batch is close to 0 for almost all the 48 files -1 second for 2 files-, however, the final result is returned after about ~35 seconds. Does anyone know why it takes ~35 seconds to return the results? I don't think it should take this long, or it is not really running in parallel?

Another mysterious thing for me is that the batches column shows the same value as the total column, these values are actually the number of rows in each file. Shouldn't the value of batches be 1? since there is only 48 files and the batchSize is 1?

Thanks!

Hi @Hatem !