Extend current Graph with RDF

I'm new with Neo4j and I have a question about using rdf to extend the current graph. Suppose I have a normal graph data stored in Neo4j (just a basic graph) and I wish to use rdf to produce a hierarchy (e.g. owl:subPropertyOf, rdfs:subClassOf). In this case, how can I match the exact predicate or the class from the old graph to extend with the new defined rdf? Are there any examples or tutorials for doing this? Thanks in advance

Hi Oli,

If I understand what you're trying to achieve, you need to load RDF ontologies into neo4j and link them to your data.

With neosemantics, you can import RDF ontologies :

And you can also import your RDF data in a way that creates your RDF Classes as nodes in neo4j (cf. config parameter "handleRDFTypes" in Neosemantics Reference - Neosemantics).
That should allow you to link the ontology nodes to your data nodes.

David

Thanks David,
I saw the tutorial and it's helpful I think. There is one thing I'm still confused. Let's say that we have car1 and car2, car1 did something, maybe car1 - stopAt - shop1 and maybe I wish that if I only know from my graph DB that the car model is golf and I wish that from my ontology I can get more information, I could say that car is also a VW. The question for me is that how can I associate the 'golf' in my graph DB and 'golf' in my ontology. How can I do the mappings which can automatically associate all the cars. In other words, I would use the ontologies to enrich my previous graph DB if that's possible.

Oli

To link your ontology data and your instance data, make sure that you configure handleRDFTypes=NODES (or LABELS_AND_NODES) so RDF types are created as neo4j nodes, and match the nodes from your ontology data. Otherwise, by default RDF types are loaded as neo4j labels, which would leave your data disconnected from the ontology data.

You can also specify that option in import procedures :
call n10s.rdf.import.fetch(<file>,"Turtle", { typesToLabels: false });