Performance Expectations - 55m nodes, 3000m relationships

Hey folks -
I'm new to graph databases and I'm trying to get an overall sense of performance and scalability and the knobs I can turn to speed things up. I have a model (image attached). I've indexed properties appropriately but I'm finding traversals joining across nodes and relationships are slow. Here's an example query:

MATCH (cu:User)-[:IS]->(cc:Contact)<-[h:HAS]-(u:User)-[:IS]->(c:Contact)
	MATCH (cu)-[ph:HAS]->(pc:Contact)-[w:WORKS_FOR]->(co:Company)
	WHERE 
		co.domain = $domain and u.username = $username and
		not u = cu and not pc = c and not pc = cc 

RETURN *, h.strength + ph.strength as rstrength
	LIMIT $limit		

Is there a way to do the SQL equivalent to do compound indexes so these types of queries are faster?

With 20GB of frame 9GB allocated to page cache, results are still taking many minutes. PROFILE seems to most dislike these:

As you get to systems with 100-millions of nodes and relationships, what are typically strategies to provide good response times even with low concurrency.

Hi @phil !

Just a couple of questions to better understand your model.

1. What's the actual difference between User and Contact?
    2 What's the actual difference between Has and Is?

About your question, yes, composite indexes do exists on neo4j, and they have to be applied on the same Label.

Can you eventually send the entire profile of our query?

Bennu

1. What's the actual difference between User and Contact?
  • Users have logins (OAuth tokens, and permissions and privileges).
  • Contacts are people who users know.

2 Users can share a contact with a HAS relationship.

The IS relationship is unique between User and Contact.

Imagine you're using Google Contacts, you're the User, the people in your Contacts are the Contacts.

2 What's the actual difference between Has and Is?
The IS relationship is the contact information for the user. The Has relationship says that the user knows the Contact.