Pearson Similarity

Hi everyone,

I am new to neo4j and I need some assistance.

I am following a blog post - Diversifying your portfolio.

One of the queries requires to call the Pearson Similarity algorithm, i have downloaded the GDS plugin.

My neo4j Desktop version is 5.12.0 and GDS library version is 2.6.0

This is the error message i got.
'There is no procedure with the name gds.alpha.similarity.pearson.write registered for this database instance. Please ensure you've spelled the procedure name correctly and that the procedure is properly deployed.'

Can someone help me out on this?

You are calling with ‘alpha’ in the name. Try removing that, as the procedure may have been promoted.

You can look for the procedure in the browser. Try the following query:

show procedures where name contains “pearson” 

See if you find yours and what the correct path is.

Hi @fatehali786shaikh ,

This blog-post is based on an old version of GDS and unfortunately does not reflect the current state of the library.

In particular, the procedure gds.alpha.similarity.pearson.write has been removed.
You can instead use gds.knn.write in its place, by specifying the similarity metric to be equal to Pearson.
This is achieved by setting the configuration parameter nodeProperties to {input: 'Pearson'}, where input` is the name of your property.

You can read more about the way the algorithm works on the documentation page.

There is one more crucial thing to consider:
Since version 2.0.0 of the library, to execute any algorithm you must first project your graph from neo4j to gds. You can read more about this concept on the documentation page.

Here are the two queries that will allow you to compute the pearson similarity between stocks

(1) Graph projection phase:

CALL gds.graph.project('graph', ['Stock'],'*', {nodeProperties:'close_array'}) YIELD *

(2) Pearson calculation

CALL gds.knn.write('graph', {
    writeRelationshipType: 'SIMILAR',
    writeProperty: 'score',
    topK: 3,