How to project database into a graph while computing node properties?

Hello,
I am pretty new to Neo4j and the Graph Data Science library and I have to say I am often very puzzled by some of the limitations and/or design choices. I am sure there are good reasons and it is my lack of experience and understanding which is creating this confusion, hence I am turning for help here.

Here is what I am trying to achieve:
Let's say I have a network of teams and players. Players in a team have a single directed relationship with each other where the direction does not carry any meaning (as per Neo4j recommendation). The season a team played is a property of the team obviously, not the player.
I need

1. to project only the players in the graph to focus the network analysis
  2. the first and last season a player played to be computed from the relationships to the teams and set as a node property while doing the projection.
  3. the relationships between players must be projected as UNDIRECTED

The ability to do such computations while projecting seems to be a very common use case, yet I have not found a way to do this.

• Using the GDS library native projection, I can achieve 1 and 2, but I can't find a way to instruct the projection to do such computations to generate new node properties while projecting. Looking at the Node operations documentation, there is also no operation to mutate node properties later on (which I don't understand).
  • Using the Cypher projection, I can easily achieve 1 and 2. But the documentation says "It not possible to project graphs in UNDIRECTED orientation when Cypher projections are used."

I did find in the documentation a beta function to convert the graph projection to UNDIRECTED gds.beta.graph.relationships.toUndirected, but is it equivalent to a native projection with UNDIRECTED relationships?

Would the following work?

1. Use a cypher query to perform all the needed computation while projection the database into a graph