From A-Town to Z-Town: Find the shortest route through the alphabet

Hi there,

I am new to neo4j and would like to use it to answer the following question:
What is the shortest route in terms of distance in kilometres from "A-Town" to "Z-Town", where the tour should follow the alphabet using the first letters of the places crossed.

For this I have a dataset that contains the shortest routes between places followed by the first letter, i.e. routes between "A-Town" and all places starting with B, all routes from places with B to places with C, etc.

So with that I have created a graph that consists of

• 9153 Place Nodes representing different places with a Id and a Name property

• around 3.2 Mio PATH relationships between these nodes with a Distance property

I have tried the Dijkstra Shortest Path algorithm

MATCH (source:Place {Id: "1"}),
      (target:Place {Id:"9153"})

CALL gds.shortestPath.dijkstra.stream(
  'routes',
  {
    sourceNode:source,
    targetNode:target,
    relationshipWeightProperty:'Distance'
  })
YIELD index, sourceNode, targetNode, totalCost, nodeIds, costs, path
RETURN
    index,
    gds.util.asNode(sourceNode).Name AS sourceNodeName,
    gds.util.asNode(targetNode).Name AS targetNodeName,
    totalCost,
    [nodeId IN nodeIds | gds.util.asNode(nodeId).Name] AS nodeNames,
    costs,
    nodes(path) as path
ORDER BY index

and some other algorithms, but I always just get the Warning Information

This query builds a cartesian product between disconnected patterns.

The warning makes sense, of course, since extremely many comparisons have to be queried.

Therefore now my question: What is the best way to proceed here, is there a suitable solution for this at all?

I would be very happy about any suggestions and help!

Don’t worry about the warning. Your query pattern does result in a Cartesian product, but it is between two unique nodes, so no big deal.