Finding non duplicated loop path

Hi everyone! I'm new with chyper and I want to find all the closed cicles in a graph, but I want to avoid duplicated loops. So, suppose that 3 nodes A,B,C create a loop. By searching them with "MATCH p=(n)-[*]->(n)
WHERE id(nodes(p)[0]) = id(nodes(p)[-1]) AND length(p) > 1" in the output I have three times the same loop, with of course a different start node. How can I do to return the loop just 1 time, no matter the start node?

This filters out all duplicate loops by choosing just the one that starts with the lowest id.

MATCH path=(n)-[*2..]->(n)
WHERE single(i in tail(nodes(path)) where id(i) <= id(n))
return path

Test Data:

Without the filter:

With the filter:

1 Like

Thank you very much!

1 Like

If you are in AURA, or on a recent version of Neo4j (>=5.9) you can also use quantified path patterns (QPPs).

// starts and ends on same node, repeat relationships one or more time (+) as long as the pre node has id <= pre node
MATCH  path=(n) ( (pre)-[]->(post WHERE id(pre) <= id(post)) )+ ()-[]->(n)
return [i IN nodes(path) | i]

This will return the full loop (the last node is the same as the first node).

I find this more readable (a matter of taste, I guess), but more importantly if you have a big graph, it should be much more efficient. QPPs inline the filtering: they discard unwanted solution while they navigate the graph.
Solutions that use variable length path patterns (the one you are using) usually expand all possible paths and only after that filter out the paths that do not satisfy the filter, using more processing and more memory.

If you want to learn about QPPs, see the Patterns section in the Neo4j Cypher manual.

@valerio.malenchino, I agree with you on the benefit of qualified paths, so I have started to learn the syntax.