Why would you want to assign multiple labels to a node

I'm new to neo4j and I thought that "label" was the same as a "node type" such as a student node, teacher node, etc. Then I came accross this document:

"create-create-a-node-with-multiple-labels"

I have some generic operations that need to do specific things based on the node type, and I thought I could use the "label" property for this, but since a node can have multiple labels, I need some other way to identify what type of node it is.

What is a sure way to identify exactly what type of node it is?

Thanks.

You don’t have to use multiple labels if your domain model doesn’t benefit from them.

You should not be limited in performing your generic operations because on the knowledge that a node can have multiple labels. Do you have an example of one of your generic operations that now concerns you?

I'm just wondering why you would have multiple labels if a label defines the node type. A dog is not a cat, therefore a node should be either a dog or a cat.

Or are label more like tags or indexes as a way to categorize nodes? it seems there should a property on the node that declares what node type it is.

This is my perspective coming from the RDB world and working with TigerGraph which has strongly typed schemas.

Maybe look at it from this perspective:
A cat is not a dog - true - but a cat is an animal and so is a dog (and an elephant and a mouse and ...). So now if you want to fetch all animal nodes, it is much easier if all animals have two labels (the actual animal type they are plus the "Animal" label):

MATCH (a:Animal) RETURN a

instead of

MATCH (a:Dog|Cat|Elephant|Mouse|...) RETURN a

And maybe you want to query for all mammals (no insects, reptiles,...). Then it would be good to have a third label on all nodes ...

3 Likes