Trouble iterating using UNWIND

I am very new to Neo4j, so this is probably a simple question.
I have several hundred nodes with a property "seq" (for sequence). This number basically represents the day of the month. So all of these several hundred nodes have a seq property between 1 and 31. I want to combine all the nodes with the same seq into a single node - so that all the nodes with seq = 1 are combined into a "January 1" node. All nodes with seq =2 are combined into a "January 2" node, etc. I have a property of "pat_id" that will be combined into an array from all the merged noes for a day.

Here is my code:

WITH range(1,31) as counts
UNWIND counts AS cnt
MATCH (n:OUTPT {seq:cnt})
WITH collect(n) AS nodes
CALL apoc.refactor.mergeNodes(nodes, {properties: {
pat_id:'combine',
seq:'discard'}, mergeRels:true})
YIELD node
RETURN node

I initially tried to do this with a FOREACH loop, but I can't do a MATCH inside a FOREACH.
I have been doing an UNWIND, but it is only merging the nodes with the first value (seq = 1). I assume this is because the RETURN statement ends the loop. But when I remove the RETURN statement, I get this error:

Query cannot conclude with CALL (must be RETURN or an update clause) (line 5, column 1 (offset: 99))
"CALL apoc.refactor.mergeNodes(nodes, {properties: {"

Any help would be appreciated.

Hello @michael.temple1 and welcome to the Neo4j community :slight_smile:

You were very close, you missed the cnt in the WITH clause:

UNWIND counts AS cnt
MATCH (n:OUTPT {seq:cnt})
WITH cnt, collect(n) AS nodes
CALL apoc.refactor.mergeNodes(nodes, {properties: {
    pat_id:'combine',
    seq:'discard'
}, mergeRels:true})
YIELD node
RETURN node

Regards,
Cobra

and although no a significant benefit but

UNWIND counts AS cnt

could be replaced by

UNWIND range(1,31)  AS cnt

Thank you Cobra - this works as I want to to.
Quick follow-up. I don't understand why I need the 'cnt' in the WITH statement. If I run the following code:

UNWIND counts AS cnt