Triggers and parameters

Hi i'm very new to neo4j and would like to use it in a project and have come stuck with a trigger.
I'm using neo4j 5.1.0 and would like you to create a trigger for when a player node is created and use event properties of the node so i've come up with :
CALL apoc.trigger.add('node-create-trigger', '
WITH $event AS event
MATCH (n:Node)
CALL apoc.log.info($event.eventId)
', {phase: 'after', params: {event: 'NODE_CREATED_OR_UPDATED'}})

but this doesn’t work and gives the error in the logs. : org.neo4j.exceptions.ParameterNotFoundException: Expected parameter(s): event. I've also tried with

', {phase: 'after', params: {
player: $event.player,
event: {
"identity": $event.player.identity,
"labels": [
"Player"
],
"properties": {
"playerId": $event.player.playerId,
"username": $event.player.username
}
}
}})

I was wondering if anyone could point me to a working example that's
newbie friendly

I don't see a reference to a parameter option when adding a trigger. It seems to make sense to not support one, as how would you inject a new value each time it ran. In your case if you could set a parameter, the $event will always be equal to 'NODE_CREATED_OR_UPDATED' since there is no mechanism to change it after adding the trigger. As such, you can hard code the value.

I am not clear on what your trigger is intending to do. First, you are matching on all Node entities and not doing anything with the match result. Why are you matching on all Nodes?

I have not used triggers, but it looks like you want to use the provided parameters to understand what changes and react to that. If you want to react to nodes being created, you can get the list of nodes created by referencing $createdNodes. There is $assignedNodeProperties that describe what properties changed and $removedNodeProperties what properties where removed.

Can you describe what outcome you are looking for and we can try to help.

Welcome aboard...neo4j is a lot of fun.