Testing Neo4j for natural language study.... suggestions?

Hi,

For my own personal study, I started to put together a neo4j graph that networks word definitions and phrases and proverbs. This is for the Jula language widely known in West Africa, (Ivory Coast, Burkina Faso, Mali).

I have the neodash up and running in a pod configuration under Fedora Coreos and GCP. I did document a sort of howto as my notes along the way: https://coastsystems.net/blog/en/2022-11-15-neo-pod/

I also managed to get a #neovis graph to appear on my blog home page: https://coastsystems.net/blog/en/

But I did run into a couple of hurdles with neovis. (Please be aware that I am just a self taught hacker and regulary go to stack exchange for help!)

You can see on my home page there is a Proverb displayed in an html details/summar element. This has been there since before neo4j. It is populated from a tsv file and a random proverb is extracted. I was wanting to pull the 'proverb' variable in my javascript and use this in neovis/neo4j to pull up that proverb and its word connections.

Something like:

var proverb = sessionStorage.getItem('dyu')

initialCypter: "MATCH (d:Proverb) 
WHERE d.text = proverb 
OPTIONAL MATCH p=()-[:MEANS]-(a:Headword)-[:USED_IN]-(d)-[:MEANING]-() 
RETURN * LIMIT 10"

But after spending some hours trying various configurations and after a few Google searches I realize that neovis can't read a javascript variable into the InitialCypher command. I did think for a minute that I could forgo the tsv file even if it would be way slower to get the random proverb from neo4j, but neovis also can't return that data back to the calling script either. Yuck.

So for the time being there is just a random proverb displayed using:

initialCypher: "MATCH (d:Proverb) 
WHERE d.lang = 'dyu' WITH d, rand() as r 
ORDER BY r LIMIT 1 
OPTIONAL MATCH p=()-[:MEANS]-(a:Headword)-[:USED_IN]-(d)-[:MEANING]-() 
RETURN * LIMIT 10"