Struggling with csv parent child relationship

Greetings. I'm new to neo4j, cypher and databases, so thanks in advance for considering my remedial question. I have a csv data set, with headers, that reflect a list of parts, part names and parent of each part. Each part has a relationship to an assembly where it exists in a system. The CSV data format is as follows
id , name, parent
1111, foo, 1000
1112, bar, 1000
1000, xxx, 10000

I'm able to load the data from csv, but I'm struggling with the syntax to create the relationships (id<->parent) . My end goal is to have a visual representation of the graph that I can navigate/traverse relationships from any point in the graph. I've read the cypher docs / examples where MERGE is used, but I can't seem to get my head around "what gets merged", considering I am importing a table where each row already has an id and parent defined in the row

Thank you for your help

This is a common thing, it's part of learning how to "think in graphs". Here's a quick solution first, then I'll try to explain how it works.

LOAD CSV WITH HEADERS FROM 'whatever.csv' AS line

MERGE (thisThingHere:Element { id: line.id })
   ON MATCH SET thisThingHere.name = line.name
   ON CREATE SET thisThingHere.name = line.name
MERGE (parent:Element { id: line.parent })
MERGE (thisThingHere)-[:PARENT]->(parent)

What MERGE does is to create something only if it doesn't already exist. For every line in the CSV, we need to guarantee that the thing itself exists, but also that the parent exists, so we can link them together. That's why we have the first 2 merges. Basically it guarantees that you'll have a thing, and its parent. The third merge is then what connects them.