Slow cypher

Hi there!
i am new to neo4j and having hard time counting the path between two nodes.
i want to count the path between A and Z where the frequency of each relationship is greater than two.
i tried this code but it is not returning anything; it keeps running and not yield and result, it runs indefinitely.

match (n:Concept),(m:Concept)
where toUpper (n.name) contains "TUBERCULOSIS"
AND toUpper (m.name) contains "CHEST PAIN"
with n,m
match path=(n)-[:CAUSES*]->(m)
where all (a in relationships(path) where a.freq>2)
RETURN count(distinct (path)) as distinct_paths

I will be grateful for your help.
side note: the graph is large with 350 million nodes and 450 million relationships.
Also, anything higher than [:CAUSES*1..2] runs indefinitely and no result is shown.

A few questions for you to better analyze your issue :

• Do you have indexes on Concept.name ? Important : using a toUpper() will negate the use of an index, as indexing is case sensitive. Consider using a full-text index, or storing your string in the format that you'll want to query it.
  • Do you have the possibility to use STARTS WITH instead of CONTAINS for your string filter ?
  • Can you execute the same query with a "PROFILE" added before the query (or EXPLAIN if your query is really too long or never returns) and provide a screenshot of the returned execution graph ?

Other topic : your query builds a cartesian product on the first row, meaning that if you get n Tuberculosis nodes, and m ChestPain nodes, you are passing along n*m nodes to the rest of the execution.
Consider writing it that way :

MATCH path=(n:Concept)-[:CAUSES*]->(m:Concept)
WHERE n.name CONTAINS "xxx" AND m.name CONTAINS "yyy" AND all(a in relationships(path) where a.freq>2)

thank you for you response.
no there are no indexes,
if i use
(n)-[:causes]->(n1)-[:causes]->(n3)
i get a return count,
but if i do
**(n)-[:causes]->(n1)-[:causes]->(n3)-[:causes]->(n4), it runs indefinitely