Should i use neo4j in my project?

Hi guys. I'm new in graph databases and neo4j.
I need to use neo4j in my school project but i'm not sure if it ok to use it for what i planned. I'm planning to create site similar to 9gag where user can login upload images, like images, comment, etc.
Now is it good idea to use neo4j for this project? I was thinking every picture can be one node, and every picture will have relation to correct category, etc.

Is this ok plan or i have to change project? Do you have any idea for what type of project i can use neo4j.

Thank you guys in front.

P.S. Sorry for my english :)

This sounds like a great project for Neo4j. There have been a few examples that might help you plan out how to tackle this kind of project:

Are you thinking you would like to build a functioning full stack application or just the database for now?

2 Likes

Thank you man you are awesome!

Yeah i will build full stack ASP.net MVC application with redis and neo4j for database. But i'm not sure what will i use redis for but i need to use it :smiley: Maybe you have some suggestion for what to use redis?

Again thank you.

Unfortunately I know nothing about redis, but someone on the community might

1 Like

Yeah i hope so. Thank you man for everything you really helped me :)

@Hazaaa You could use redis for caching credentials (access token) for logged in users. That would be a valid use-case. Hit the cache first, then fall back to the db.

So if you built the social network part (ask questions here as you go), with a few use cases, like login, make a friend, post some content, etc you could then refactor to store session in a cache.

About redis: I'm running a social network, using Neo4j, with 400,000 users, and still no need for it. But I understand that it is fun to play around with the tech, and see how things can fit together.

Good luck with your project :)

1 Like

Thank you man! That is exactly what I needed.

1 Like

Jasper i have question for you.