Question/Answer Model

Hi,
I'm working out a design for questions and answers. The Questions will have a random number of possible entries. The users will each then be able to answer those questions. Eventually, I will be using the answer to provide matching between the users (it's a dating site).

I came up with a design of creating a :Question node that will have a property containing the Question Text. Then there would be :Answer nodes that would have the choices. These two nodes would be related. When a user answers a question, I would then create a relationship between the :Person node and the :Answer node.

I'm fairly certain that this is going to be the most efficient for the matching in the future, but I wanted to ask if there was something that I might be missing. I'm still relatively new to neo4j, so I would hate to have to rewrite my front end due to missteps at the schema design layer.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.
TIA
Leeland

Hi @leelandclay, this is my 2cents. The Question and Answers are your master data sets. I wouldn't create transactions level directly to the the master data set. Tomorrow, if there are any changes to questions / answers (master data), then you have to update all the users.
instead, create an uuid for questions and answers. Then, create users relationship to the answers(with a separate label or something) uuid. this way your master data and transaction data are isolated. In the future, if you need to modify the answers, you can modify it in the master data and all the transactions will reflect the changes.

1 Like

I'd say go right ahead with a model of :Question related to :Answer related to :Person
Each question would have many :Answer nodes related, and its up to you whether a :Person can select multiple :Answer nodes for a given :Question.