Question about Syntax: {1,5} vs *1..5

Is there any difference between (XYZ)-[:XYZ]-{1,5}(XYZ) and (XYZ)-[:XYZ*1..5]-(XYZ)?

if you run each and preface with profile for example

profile match (XYZ)-[:XYZ*1..5]-(XYZ) return *;

and

profile match (XYZ)-[:XYZ]-{1,5}(XYZ) return *;

they result in the same query plan. For example

I find the 2nd form more readable.

But why? Are you getting error? different results? different performance?
If so? for what version of Neo4j?

1 Like

The first one is using qualified path syntax while the later one is using variable length path syntax. I think in this case they are functionally equivalent, as @dana_canzano demonstrated. I am new to qualified path syntax and am working on upping my game in this area. Where I believe it has the advantage is when you add where conditions within the qualified part, as these get evaluated during the path’s expansion; therefore, expansion can terminate immediately if the condition is false. This is in contrast to when you use variable length patterns and you place a where clause following the match to test some characteristic of the path. In this cause all paths have to be determined then filtered out afterwards. I imagine this would have great performance benefit when the potential paths are complex and many.

1 Like

Hi Dana,

no, I'm getting the same result...and that's why I am confused! I try to find the reason why at one time its written like this and at other times like that...

(a)<-[s]-(b) (c)-[t]->(d) //this is not allowed

A simple path pattern with more than one element:
(a:A)<-[{p: 30}]-(b)-[t WHERE t.q > 0]->(c:C)

A quantified path pattern can have a lower bound of zero in its quantifier as long as it abuts other patterns that have at least one element:
(:A) ((:X)-[:R]-()){0,10} (:B)

A quantified relationship can also have a lower bound of zero as long as the overall path pattern has at least one element:
(:A)-[:R]->{0,10}(:B)