Querying a large graphDb

Hi, great minds! I am new to neo4j and currently exploring an existing graph to extract data for downstream tasks.

I would like to get all pairs of nodes and their relationship from the graph.

MATCH (n)-[r]-(n1) WHERE n<>n1 AND n1>n RETURN *

This will return about 12,726,288 estimated rows.

Instead, I decided to extract the pairwise information between 2 node types

MATCH (n:Node{type:nodetypeA})-[r]-(n1: Node{type:nodetypeB}) WHERE n<>n1 AND id(n)<id(n1) RETURN *

with 653,022 estimated rows; sadly, neo4j has timeout continuously. I have increased the connection timeout (ms) through the neo4j browser, yet nothing works differently.

Any suggestion will be highly appreciated.

Hello @wumirose !

Why do you think this may be a timeout problem? This may be a Desktop OOM rendering problem. You may be asking for too much info to be displayed. Have you try with a driver of your preference? My personally, I have used SDN6 with Webflux without problems.

Bennu

I agree; probably the 653,022 rows are too much to extract.

Thanks a lot for your suggestion about SDN6 and Webflux, It's my first time learning a bit about reactive programming. However, it appears the reactive clients provide no support for Python, and I currently run my queries in Python Environment and connect to neo4j with py2neo.

Any further suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Hi @wumirose

Have you tried with https://neo4j.com/docs/api/python-driver/current/api.html#graphdatabase ? This one should work as stream AFAIK.

Try something like

from neo4j import GraphDatabase

user = "youUsername"
password = "yourPassword"
uri = "yourUri"
driver = GraphDatabase.driver(uri, auth=(user,password))
with driver.session() as session:
    result = session.run("MATCH (n:Node{type:nodetypeA})-[r]-(n1: Node{type:nodetypeB}) WHERE n<>n1 AND id(n)<id(n1) RETURN n as node1, n1 as node2, r as rel")
    for record in result:
             print("node1 {}".format(record["node1"]))