Query taking much longer to run when I filter based on some nodes

Hello,

I'm having some troubleshooting issues in regards to a particular query. I have a graphdb that contains courses nodes, skill nodes and skill_group nodes.

A while ago, I initially imported the first 100 course nodes with each node having a relationship to the 10,000 skill nodes.
Recently, I imported about 2000 more course nodes, each with a relationship to the the 10,000 skill nodes.

The issue that I'm having is that, whenever I'm using the ID(s) from the new 2000 course nodes in the list parameter - $user_courses , the query runtime takes too long - about 10+ secs (and it only runs much quicker on 2nd or 3rd query run).

However, the query runs smoothly when I'm using ID(s) from the initial 100 course nodes - about a second or less.

I'm running this query through python function for an application. Additionally, I have also tried putting an index on course.id (And changing ID(c) to c.id in the code), however, i'm still getting the same issue.

I'm wondering if anyone can help me ?

match (c:courses)-[r]-(s:job_skills)-[]-(d:skill_group)
where ID(c) in $user_courses
with s,d,avg(r.similarity) as average_sim order by average_sim desc limit 100
with d,avg(average_sim) as average_sim order by average_sim desc
return d.name as skill_group_name,ID(d) as skill_group_id

Hi @g.fraser ,

First a sidenote that id()is being deprecated in favor of elementId().

Could you clarify something about the graph size -- have I understood correctly that each of the :courses nodes has a relationship to every :job_skills node, which would look something like this...

To start investigating the slowdown, run the queries in Neo4j Browser, prepending the MATCH clause with the keyword PROFILE to get a view of the execution plan.

Thanks,
ABK