Preventing cycles in a neo4j graph where relationships are dated

I'm brand new to graph databases, but I'm trying to understand if a graph database is suited for my problem. Here we go!

I have a set of users who can relate to each other via a "Parent" relationship (i.e., they can be built into a tree / hierarchy). The "Parent" relationship from one user to another is said to "begin" as of a certain date, and the relationship only "ends" if/when another "Parent" relationships exists between the same users and with a later date.

Every user can have <= 1 parent as of any particular date, and can have >=0 children. I.e., at most one parent at a time, and no limit to the number of children.

I've read blog posts dealing with dated relationships, but they don't seem to address this level of complexity:

My challenge:

For a given set of users with existing "Parent" relationships, determine whether a new "Parent" relationship can be added "as of" a certain date WITHOUT creating a cycle anywhere in the timeline.

To help visualize an example, imagine we have four users Alice, Bob, Carlos, and David.

User Date Parent
Alice 09/13/2012 Bob
Alice 04/01/2021 David
Bob 01/31/2020 Carlos
Carlos 02/14/2008 David

Here is a (highly abstract) picture representing the current state of the data (time flows to the right):

https://i.stack.imgur.com/qdcbL.png

So in this example Alice has Bob as a parent from 9/13/2012 until 4/1/2021, at which point she begins to have David as a parent. Bob has no parent until 1/31/2020, at which point he gets Carlos as a parent. Etc.

I need to be able to determine whether an update/insert will create a cycle in the "parent" hierarchy at any point in time . So, for example, I'd like to be able to determine that it would be INVALID to set Carlos's parent to be Alice as of 10/22/2020 because then there would be a cycle in the hierarchy for the period between 10/22/2020 and 4/1/2021 (i.e., Alice-->Bob-->Carlos-->Alice). To help visualize it: