Neo4j apoc.periodic.iterate

Hi i am new to neo4j.

I have a fike that contains more then 10k rows, i was trying to push the data to neo4j with the help of technique called batching for this i am using apoc.periodic.iterate. but the issue it in my file there is a column named "region" Which contains 16 distinct values. When i am creating the region node without the use of apoc.periodic.iterate its creating 16 nodes which is correct but as soon as i create the node using with the help of apoc.periodic.iterate its creating 90 nodes.

Here is the code snippet i am using:

CALL apoc.periodic.iterate('
LOAD CSV WITH HEADERS FROM "fike:///test.csv" AS row RETURN row',
'WITH row
WHERE row.regionName IS NOT null
MERGE(r:Region {region_name:row.regionName}) ',
{batchSize:1000, parallel:true, iterateList:true})

Can anyone please help me out with this

You have “parallel” as true. I believe this is causing a race condition where the merge does not always detect an existing node a specific region_name. This is because multiple merge operations with the same region_name can execute concurrently when using parallel as true and these merges will not recognize each other until a node already exists. This is because there is no lock on creating nodes unless you have a uniqueness constraint on the merge property.

The solution is to change the parallel to false or try adding a uniqueness constraint on region_name. Uniqueness seems appropriate since these nodes seem like reference nodes..

1 Like

@percyjay1998

what version of Neo4j?

If v5x for example why use apoc.periodic.iterate and rather just https://neo4j.com/docs/cypher-manual/current/subqueries/subqueries-in-transactions/#_loading_csv_data

1 Like

@glilienfield

Thank you for you suggestion, yes it did solve the problem of having duplicate data.

@dana_canzano

I tried implementing CALL but i got an error this is what it says: