Multiple VMs using the same data directories

Hi everyone. I'm a DevOps engineer at the startup I work at and I'm currently experimenting with an architecture for a Neo4j database: basically I want to have two Causal Clusters of 3 nodes each, one of which will always be off at any given time (i.e. the two clusters, let's call them A and B, are mutually exclusive). Now, what I also want is to separate the data out from the VMs of the clusters, so what I did is I created a NFS server that exports directories for the following file locations: /var/lib/neo4j/data, /var/lib/neo4j/import, /var/lib/neo4j/logs, /var/lib/neo4j/metrics. What I also want is that the data is shared between the two clusters (that is, if I turn cluster A off and turn cluster B on I expect the data that was added while cluster A was on to still be present when querying using cluster B). I created a proof of concept of my desired architecture, and at first it seemed to work: I logged into the DB using cypher-shell from cluster A, changed the password because of the change in data location, added a node, no issue at all. Then I tried to turn cluster A off and turn cluster B on to see if it worked like I wanted, but I ran into the following problem: at first I couldn't connect to the DB using cypher-shell using the neo4j scheme, I had to fall back to bolt. I quickly checked if the data that was added from cluster A was present, and to my delight it was there. However, what happened next was very disturbing: in the output of :show databases all the VMs in cluster B were FOLLOWER for all databases. That means, no writes could be processed at all. I turned off cluster B and turned on cluster A to see if that was still working, but the situation was exactly the same (all followers, no writes allowed). Can somebody help me figure out what's going on? Is there a way to trigger a Leader election manually? Or is there a better solution that I'm not seeing? Is what I want to achieve even possible?