How do I create a single, two way relationship and attach properties to the realationship?

I am a complete beginner so forgive this simple question.

I have database which contains nodes for three people, a man, his wife and his sister.

1. I would like to show a filial relationship between the brother and sister which has arrows at both ends, i.e. there is no hierarchical assumption, a man is not brother to a woman.
  2. I would like to show a similar marital relationship, where there is an arrow at both ends. On this relationship however I would like to attach a date range, from and to.

I don't really want to have two separate relationships for this if at all possible.

The code I have used is as follows
MATCH
(a:Person),
(b:Person)
WHERE a.name = 'Smith, Joseph' AND b.name = 'Jones, Dorothy'
CREATE (a)-[r:Marital {name: a.name + '<->' + b.name}]->(b)
MATCH
(c:Person),
(d:Person)
WHERE c.name = 'Smith, Joseph' AND d.name = 'Smith, Sarah'
CREATE (c)-[r:Filial {name: c.name + '<->' + d.name}]->(d)

Thanks so much!

Welcome Botanic Macaroni!

In neo4j, relationships are created with, and always have one and only one direction. It is possible to create two or more relationships between two nodes, and the same type of relationship can have opposite directions. To have two relationships of similar typ between two nodes is often unnecessary and is then often not good practise.

It is a often good practice to use verbs for naming relationships.

There are many ways to create and name these two kind of relations between people.

One alternative could be to use a "IS_A_SIBLING_OF" relationship between brothers and sisters, and it might also be possible to use a "IS_MARRIED_TO" between husband and wife.

When you try to MATCH these kinds of relationships, then you don't need to specify the direction.