Create relationship using if...else condition

Hi!

I'm very new to Neo4j. I have searched in the community and StackOverflow but I couldn't get the exact answer yet so posting it here. I am trying to create a relationship between 2 different node labels using 2 properties. Lets say my node labels are -

I:Inventory
O:Owners

Both I and O have common properties (p1 and p2). I want to be able to create a relationship (I) -[OWNED_BY]->(O) where I.p1 = O.p1 or I.p2 = O.p2.
The problem with this is it creates duplicate relationships for I when it has both p1 and p2 values. My requirement is to ignore I nodes when both p1 and p2 are null and then create only one relationship using either p1 or p2.

Thanks!

Hi @karthik.shetty,

Have you tried Merge instead of create while doing the relation?

H

1 Like

Hello @karthik.shetty and welcome to the Neo4j community :slight_smile:

It will create the relation only where both properties are equal and when both exists that's to say when they are not null :slight_smile:

MATCH (I:Inventory) MATCH (O:Owners)
WHERE I.p1 = O.p1
AND I.p2 = O.p2
AND EXISTS(I.p1)
AND EXISTS(I.p2)
MERGE (I)-[OWNED_BY]->(O)

Regards,
Cobra

Thanks Cobra and Harold! I appreciate your response.

I did give this a try and it seems to be working for a small test set of data. Which is great!!!
BTW - I do have p1 and p2 in all the I:Inventory nodes but some of them are just null string (' '). So I slightly modified the query to this - please correct me if this doesn't look right

MATCH (I:Inventory) MATCH (O:Owners) WHERE I.p1 = O.p1 AND I.p2 = O.p2 AND I.p1 <> ' ' AND O.p2 <> ' ' MERGE (I)-[:OWNED_BY]->(O)

Also, the total Inventory nodes count would be in ~ 3 millions and I am looking at the solution to do it in batch wise so I am planning to use apoc.periodic.iterate like below. - please correct me if this is not the right approach.