CASE(x) WHEN containts Y THEN replace(x, z, c) error

Hey, I just started learning neo4j and I'm facing one small error. Therefor, I want to CREATE a "table" from a csv file but my csv file containts back slashes and forward slashes. I know that these characters are escape characters but I tried to replace them during the CREATE process. This is my cypher:

LOAD CSV WITH HEADERS FROM "file:///comments.csv" AS row
CREATE (n:Comments)
SET n = row,
SET n.Content = CASE(row.Content) WHEN CONTAINS '\\' THEN replace(row.Content, '\\', '\\\\') ELSE row.Content

What I'm doing here is basically checking if row.Content contains '\' and if it does, replace it with double '\\'. However I get an error, the error says:
Invalid input 'n': expected whitespace, comment, '{', node labels, MapLiteral, a parameter, a parameter (old syntax), a relationship pattern, '(', '.', '=' or "+=" (line 4, column 5 (offset: 94))
"SET n.Content = CASE(row.Content) WHEN CONTAINS '\' THEN replace(row.Content, '\', '\\') ELSE row.Content"

I googled this error but I didn't get any solution for my problem.
Thanks in advance

Hello @anthino12 :slight_smile:

You have several syntax errors in your request :slight_smile:, you forget the END at the end and the () can be removed in the CASE clause (doc):

SET n = row,
SET n.Content = CASE row.Content WHEN CONTAINS '\\' THEN replace(row.Content, '\\', '\\\\') ELSE row.Content END

Regards,
Cobra

1 Like

Hey @cobra

I just edited my cypher but I still get the same error. Is it possible to replace a "" in a string?
Meanwhile I was googling and found out that "" can't be replaced with anything because it can't be recognized as a character.

I want to ask you because you're a certified professional :D

Can you give me an example with the current string and the output you want to get? :slight_smile:

1 Like

Sure. The string I'm trying to insert is:
same here, don’t know why… :\