Cartesian product issue

Good day,

I trust you are well.

I am new to Neo4j and struggling to create relationships between nodes. I was able to do so a few years ago with my cuurent cypher code, but it seams my code is not working.

I created the following nodes:

create (n1:Female {id:1, name:'Giovanna Bell', age:57})
create (n101:Service_ID {Id:101, Name:'MED'})

Now i wanted to created a relationship:

MATCH (a:Female {name:'Giovanna Bell'}),(b:Service_ID {name:'MED'}) MERGE (a)-[p:SERVICE]->(b)

But then I get the error message:

This query builds a cartesian product between disconnected patterns.

If a part of a query contains multiple disconnected patterns, this will build a cartesian product between all those parts. This may produce a large amount of data and slow down query processing. While occasionally intended, it may often be possible to reformulate the query that avoids the use of this cross product, perhaps by adding a relationship between the different parts or by using OPTIONAL MATCH (identifier is: (b))

Could you kidly assist?

Thank you and kindest regards,

Emil

@emilvermaas
What version of Neo4j is in play here?

How are you submitting the cypher? via Neo4j Browser? cypher-shell ? or ??

create (n1:Female {id:1, name:'Giovanna Bell', age:57})
create (n101:Service_ID {Id:101, Name:'MED'})
MATCH (a:Female {name:'Giovanna Bell'}),(b:Service_ID {name:'MED'}) MERGE (a)-[p:SERVICE]->(b)

will create a cartesian join and the message you describe is generally a warning and not an error. After running such what is the outcome/result of

match (a:Female)-[:SERVICE]->(b) return a,b;

To supplement Dana's reply, when your goal is to lookup two nodes (that do not have a relationship in your MATCH pattern between them) with the intent to create a relationship between the nodes, this approach (cartesian product between two disconnected patterns) is the correct (and only) option.