Best practices when choosing relationship direction\name?

Hi all,

Sorry if this a total noob question, but I've been looking through posts and googling and haven't found anything that really answers it.

As a bit of background, I've spent over a decade modelling relational databases. I'm comfortable with the concepts of graph modelling (and actually pretty excited about the possibilities), and am currently trying to model a subset of tables in one of my SQL Server databases as a graph.

I've got no problem creating the entities as nodes, and am fine with creating the foreign keys as relationships between the nodes, but what I'm struggling with is defining the relationship itself with regard to direction and name. From looking at the examples in the documentation and elsewhere, it seems most common to start from the child\many side and end at the parent\one side, if one were to put it in more relational terms: e.g.,(:User)-[MEMBER_OF]->(:Group) and not (:Group)-[:HAS_MEMBER]->(:User). But this isn't always the case, as in the Northwind refactoring examples, where it's (:Employee)-[:SOLD]->(:Order) and not (:Order)-[:SOLD_BY]->[:Employee)

I know it's not super important, since it's my understanding that I can query based on incoming and outgoing relationships, and even ignore directionality when querying, but as someone who likes to know (and usually follow) rules, or even rules of thumb, I was wondering if anyone had any advice on how they usually tackle this.

Thanks,
Laura

2 Likes

I wonder the answer to this question.
How should we determine the relationship direction?